Is there anyone here that does the ipod mods?

Thanks..Most prolly I'm gettin an ipod video 5.5g from a forummer and I wanna improve it's sq within makin a huge hole in my wallet hahah.

What should I do? I heard of rockboxing and other expensive mods like from RWA..
    A diy service perhaps?

Educate me..Im new to this thing haha.
    Thanks guys =))

Buy the best IEM you can afford (of the variety you prefer, e.g. dynamic, balanced, multi-driver), then think of getting a discrete amp.

Mods can be considered if the above doesn't improve the SQ to the level desired.

Those mods actually helps to improve line out signal. Its only good if you can intend to hook it up some amps.

And if your gonna to imod your ipod i suggest you get the LOD with caps to block off the "xtra" VDC.

The best IEMs in the market only shines when paired with a good amp.
    Base on my experience with using JH13, JH16, Stage6 and UM miracles.
    Workstation Rig

Intel Xeon W3680 / Evga Classified X58 / 6x4GB GSkill / Nvidia 285GTX SLI + 260GTX physics / X-Fi Forte / Dell U3011 /Adaptec 4805SAS / WD velociraptor 300GB (OS) / 4x2TB WB Black (RAID 5) in Icydock MB455SPF-B / Enermax Revolution 85+ 1050W

Thanks for all the info guys. So will the mods be able to improve sq just by itself(ipod + iem) or it needs to have an amp to hear the difference?
    Also..what kinda amps do they have for noobs that listens to..basically heavy on vocals, drums, and effects and some guitars. TIA

redpixy bro, I don't really know the insides of the ipod..Whats LOD and VDC?

Quote Originally Posted by Danial89 View Post
    Thanks for all the info guys. So will the mods be able to improve sq just by itself(ipod + iem) or it needs to have an amp to hear the difference?
    Also..what kinda amps do they have for noobs that listens to..basically heavy on vocals, drums, and effects and some guitars. TIA

redpixy bro, I don't really know the insides of the ipod..Whats LOD and VDC?